Tasman Bays Heritage Trust - Governance

Tasman Bays Heritage Trust is a charitable trust, registered with the NZ Charities Commission. The Trust was established in 2000 to administer the Nelson Provincial Museum Pupuri Taonga o Te Tai Ao as a regional heritage facility, on behalf of Tasman District Council and Nelson City Council [Deed of Trust 2000]. The Trust is a council-controlled organisation with statutory obligations under the Local Government Act, 2002. Council stakeholding is structured as a 50:50 alliance. The Trust is bound by foundation contracts [Memorandum of Understanding 2000, 2009]. The Trust has a partnership with Mana Whenua o Whakatu, Motueka and Mohua. [Memorandum of Understanding 2007, 2010, 2014].

Trust Board Meeting dates for 2018

All meetings run from 3.00 - 6.00 pm unless otherwise stated. 

  • 7 February

  • 27 February

  • 24 April

  • 29 May

  • 26 June - Boardroom, Crowe Horwath, 72 Trafalgar Street

  • 8 August - Boardroom, Crowe Horwath, 72 Trafalgar Street

  • 28 August - Boardroom, Crowe Horwath, 72 Trafalgar Street

  • 25 September - Boardroom, Crowe Horwath, 72 Trafalgar Street

  • 24 October - Boardroom, Crowe Howarth, 72 Trafalgar Street

  • Annual Meeting 1 November - 4.30 pm at the Nelson Provincial Museum.

  • 29 November – 3.00 pm-5.30 pm, Nelson Provincial Museum, Staff Room, 270 Trafalgar Street

Board of Trustees

Olivia Hall - Chair

An experienced trustee/director of various not for profit and commercial organisations based in Te Tau Ihu (Top of the South Island), Olivia attended Toihoukura Maori Art and Design School, has a Bachelor of Arts in Māori and a Masters of Business Administration. Olivia is the currently the Chair of Te Ruananga o Ngati Rarua and Trustee of Nelson Bays Primary Health Organisation.  Her whakapapa includes Ngāti Rārua, Rangitane and Ngāti Kuia. Commenced TBHT November 2012.

Emma Thompson - Deputy Chair

Emma brings to the Trust many years of not-for-profit governance experience in both charitable organisations and incorporated societies. She is also the Managing Director of a Public Relations (PR) and Marketing agency in Nelson. As a PR consultant Emma advises numerous boards on strategic direction, risk management and brand strategy. She is a member of the Public Relations Institute of NZ and the NZ Institute of Directors.

Chris Bowater

General Manager and Director of Bowater Motors Group. Former South Island Manager Air New Zealand with many years in retail travel and airline industries. Director, Nelson Tasman Chamber of Commerce; Member, Institute of Directors. Commenced TBHT March 2009.

Liz Richards

Currently Chair of the Winston Churchill Memorial Trust Board and a member of the Nelson Branch, National Council of Women. Liz has been the Chair of the Top of the South Health Alliance and previously Deputy Chair, Nelson Marlborough District Health Board and the Canterbury Community Trust. Liz has worked as manager and lecturer in Public Health and Housing. Commenced TBHT April 2009. Member of Audit and Risk Management Committee.

Derek Shaw

Former local body representative on Nelson City Council, Nelson Marlborough Regional Council, and Nelson Catchment and Regional Water Board (30 years in total). Chairperson of Nelson Provincial Museum Management Committee 1992-1998 and Deputy Chairperson 1998-2000. Publisher of local histories since 1986 through Nikau Press. Founding trustee of the Brook Waimarama Sanctuary Trust 2004-present. Founding member of Nelson Environment Center Inc 1976-present. Trustee of Saxton Velodrome Trust, Top of the South Athletics Charitable Trust (chairperson) and director of NZ Masters Athletics Board. Life Member of Athletics Nelson and Life Friend of the Suter Art Gallery. B.Sc (Hons) Otago and Diploma of Teaching (Christchurch). Commenced TBHT November 2015.

Darren Mark

A Chartered Accountant with Crowe Horwath in Nelson. Darren is also a Board of Trustee member for Waimea College and sits on the Nelson Marlborough Committee of the Institute of Directors. He is a member of the Chartered Accountants Australia New Zealand. Commenced TBHT in November 2015.

Life Associates

Robin Whalley

Business Consultant; Professional Trustee; Company Director; Past Chairman Nelson/ Marlborough branch of New Zealand Society of Accountants; Chartered Secretary. Foundation Trustee of Tasman Bays Heritage Trust served for eight years 2000-2008. Chairman 2007-08.

Dr Mike Johnston

A geologist, researcher, historian and author of four regional histories and over 50 scientific papers. Life member and former president of Nelson Historical Society and is Convener of the Geological Society of New Zealand's Historical Studies Group. Served as a Trustee of Nelson Provincial Museum for thirty years. Foundation Trustee 2000-2009.

Patricia O'Shea (1940-2014)

It is with sadness and deep respect that Patsy's death in October 2014 is noted for this record. The turnout of family, friends and former Trust Board colleagues was a fitting tribute. BA (Canterbury) history and sociology. historian, author and researcher. Former local body representative Motueka Borough Council and Tasman District Council (18 years in total). Long-term member Motueka and Districts Museum Trust. A member of the Motueka Arts Council and New Zealand Society of Genealogists. Inaugural Chairperson of Tasman Bays Heritage Trust 2000 - 2007.

Trust Board Policies and Documents